Do I need a visa for the Netherlands?

Whether you require a visa to visit the Kingdom of the Netherlands or not, it is based on several elements such as the purpose of the trip, duration of stay, and most crucially, your nationality.
If you are planning on visiting Amsterdam but you are not sure whether you require a visa or not, this guide will assist you.

Do you need a Passport inside 8 weeks?
Passports and will help you getting an expedited passport. It's easy, painless and fast.
Click Here to Get Your Passport Fast

Who does not require a visa for the Netherlands?

EU citizens: You do not require a visa for the Kingdom of the Netherlands if the stay is not more than three months. If you want to stay longer, you require a residence permit.

Non-EU citizens: Americans, British, Canadians, and Australians can visit the Netherlands and all other Schengen countries without a visa permit for as long as three months in any six months. It applies when traveling as a tourist to visit friends and relatives attending business conferences, sports, and cultural events. For other reasons, you have to check with the High Commission, Consulate, or Embassy of the Netherlands in your homeland about what kind of visa or work permit you might need.

Types of Netherlands Visa:

Whether you require a visa or not, it is based, among other things, on your nationality, the duration of your stay, your travel destination. 

1. Schengen (Short-stay) visa:

A Schengen visa or short-stay visa permits you to stay in the Netherlands for up to three months. In addition to the Netherlands, it also applies in the other Schengen countries.

2. Long-stay visa:

If you want to remain in the Netherlands for a period of more than three months, you may require a long-stay visa. It is also known as MVV or authorization for a temporary stay.

You don't require a residence permit or a long-stay visa to stay in the Kingdom of the Netherlands, only when you are a national of one of the following countries:

  • Norway
  • Iceland
  • Switzerland
  • Liechtenstein
  • An EU member state

You don't require an MVV but a Dutch residence permit if you are a national of:

  • Australia
  • Andorra
  • Canada
  • Monaco
  • New Zealand
  • San Marino
  • Japan
  • South Korea
  • Vatican City
  • The United States

When you are a national of a country other than listed above, it depends on your purpose of travel to the Netherlands, whether you require a residence permit, long-stay visa, or both.

3. Visa facilitation:

If you are traveling to the Kingdom of the Netherlands or want to join a family member who is an EEA, EU, or Swiss citizen, you can request visa facilitation.

4. Airport transit visa:

If you are changing to another flight at a Dutch airport, you may require an airport transit visa. You only require an airport transit visa for the Kingdom of the Netherlands if you travel to a country outside the Schengen area and your country is on the list of nationals who need one. These countries are:

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Cuba
  • Congo (Democratic Republic)
  • Ethiopia
  • Eritrea
  • Guinea
  • Ghana
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Iraq
  • Iran
  • Nigeria
  • Nepal
  • Pakistan
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sierra Leone
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Sri Lanka

5. Caribbean visa:

If you want to visit the Caribbean parts of the Netherlands, you may need a Caribbean visa. With this visa you can visit Curaçao, Saba, Aruba, Bonaire, St. Maarten, and St. Eustatius.

About This Author

Philip Diack is Founder and Managing Director of Passports and, a national passport and travel visa service with offices in Atlanta, Miami, Washington, DC, NYC, Denver and San Francisco.

Related Articles