Citizens who are exempt from Schengen visas are anticipated to need to apply for an ETIAS  (European Travel Information and Authorization System).

What is the ETIAS system?

In 2018, the EU approved a system for electronic visas for visa-exampt visitors and named it the ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System).  This system is an electronic travel visa system and will require nationals of visa-exempt countryies to apply for an ETIAS.  This system is anticipated to be implemented in 2022.

Who will need an ETIAS visa?

ETIAS is required for nationals of visa-exempt countries (exempt from Schengen visa).  There are currently 62 counties who are not in the EU, who are visa-free.

The current list of countries requiring an ETIAS are:

Albania, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, El Salvador, Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Macao SAR, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Montenegro, Nauru, New Zealand, Nicragua, North Macedonia, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Sant Kitts, Saint Lucia, Saint, Vincent, Samoa, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Taiwan, Timor Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uruguay, Vanatu, and Venezuela.

What is required to obtain an ETIAS?

An ETIAS applicant will undergo a detailed security check to determine if they are approved and able to enter a Schengen Zone country.  The process is available to those from 18 to 70 years of age and generally will be a very quick process.

What can I do with an ETIAS?

The ETIAS will be available for both business and tourist purposes for stays of up to 90 days.  Additionally, applicants can apply for medical or transit reasons.

How long is an ETIAS valid?

The ETIAS is valid for 3 years or until the end of validity of your passport, whichever comes first.

What if I'm not eligible for an ETIAS?

All citizens of countries mentioned above (countries which can enter the EU without visas) are eligible to apply for the ETIAS. If you are not eligible for this travel authorization, it means that you are not a citizen of those countries. This means that you must obtain a Schengen Visa to enter the EU countries.

Is an ETIAS a visa?

No. The ETIAS authorization is not a visa, per se.

An ETIAS travel authorization does not carry visa obligations. There is no need to go to a consulate to make an application, no biometric data is collected and significantly less information is gathered than during a visa application procedure. Whereas, as a general rule, a Schengen visa procedure can take up to 15 days, and can in some cases be extended up to 30 or 60 days, the online ETIAS application only takes a few minutes to fill in. The validity will be for a period of three years, significantly longer than the validity of a Schengen visa. An ETIAS authorization will be valid for an unlimited number of entries.

Do you need a Passport inside 8 weeks?
Passports and will help you with your passport needs It's easy, painless and fast.
Do you need a Passport or Travel Visa for your upcoming trip?

Answer two questions and we'll show you if you need a travel visa or passport for your upcoming trip